Marcus Center for the Performing Arts
Box Office 414.273.7206

MLK Milwaukee Marcus Center Teacher of the Year Award

The Marcus Center for the Performing Arts is proud to recognize teachers who have continuously championed and encouraged their students to participate in the Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Celebration Contests throughout the years.


The 2018 Teacher of the Year is:

Ms. Desire Tyler

MPS’ Trowbridge Street School

Ms Desire Tyler MPS Trowbridge Street School

Currently a 3rd Grade teacher at Trowbridge Street School on Milwaukee’s South Side, this teacher has been a Milwaukee Public Schools’ educator since 1987.  During this time she has diligently worked with students teaching about the life and beliefs of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  Ms. Tyler has enrolled students in different city-wide King contests throughout the years.  Students under her guidance have been award winners at least seven times.

 Ms. Tyler was surprised in her classroom and presented with a commemorative Dr. Martin Luther King. Jr. Birthday Celebration Plaque, an IPAD, tickets to a Broadway Show at the Marcus Center and a bouquet of flowers.


Past Teacher of the Year Award recipients include the following:

2014    Katherine Katter, Milwaukee High School of the Arts

2015    Whitney Gulbronson, Riverside University High School

2016    Constance Michaud, Fairview Elementary School

2017    Kris Gerke Komes, Riley Elementary School


The 2018 Teacher of the Year Award is proudly sponsored by the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts


Thank You Sponsors